Go to the Midkiff Online Resources link in your Canvas for usernames and passwords to all our online services. --> ʻOhana course - Departments - Midkiff Learning Center
ABC-Clio - Research database for World Issues and American and World History
How-to-Video: Overview Tutorial
American History 1493-1945 - Documents American History from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. It is sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection.
How-to-Video: Getting Started; Searching; Browsing
Ancestry - Tracing your family generations back through primary source documents - Go to the Midkiff Online Resources link in your Canvas ʻOhana Course to access this service.
How-to-Video: Features & Searching
EBSCO - Research database containing over 100,000 encyclopedia, journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, primary sources, government documents, photos, etc.
How-to Video: Advanced Searching
Encyclopaedia Britannica - Encyclopedia with up-to-date general information on every topic
How-to-Video: Overview Tutorial
JSTOR - Digital library of current and archival journals, books, and primary sources
How-to-Video: Searching
LIFE Magazine Archive (EBSCO) - American magazine published from 1936-2000 that featured stories of American life and social commentary.
|
Swank Motion Pictures - Ask your kumu for access to feature film movies |
Khan Academy - Tutorial Videos on Math, Science, Computer Programming, History, Art, and more. |
|
C-SPAN - Provides access to live U.S. House of Representatives and U.S. Senate proceedings and provides elected and appointed officials and others who would influence public policy access to the public. |
TedEd - Lessons Worth Sharing |
|
American Archive of Public Broadcasting - Archive of public television and radio programs of the past 60 years featuring American political, social, and cultural history and creativity. |
|
|
UniversityVideos.org - University Videos is a digital library portal that contains the YouTube Channels of the world's Top Universities.
|
Kumu Laʻakea Cumberlander
Hale Hoʻonaʻauao ʻo Midkiff
Email me: cecumber@ksbe.edu
OR
(Click on icon above. Must log in to Google account.)
Go to the Midkiff Online Resources link in your Canvas for usernames and passwords to all our online services. --> ʻOhana course - Departments - Midkiff Learning Center
|
Mostly Fiction |
Mostly Fiction |
|
Nonfiction |
|
|
Academic Nonfiction |
Nonfiction |
|
Nonfiction |
Classic Works |
|
Hawaiian Fiction & Nonfiction in English & Hawaiian |
Miscellaneous |
Go to the Midkiff Online Resources link in your Canvas for usernames and passwords to all our online services. --> ʻOhana course - Departments - Midkiff Learning Center
Historic American Newspapers (Hawaiʻi)
Chronicling America provides “access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).”
New York Times - Current & archived editions of World & U.S. news
To create an account, click on Create Account and then click on 
and sign in with your KS email address. You will be emailed your access. It may take 24 hours to set up your free account.
Newsbank - World, National, and Hawaiʻi Current News as well as America's Historical Newspapers
Hawaiʻi newspapers listed as USA-Hawaii button under Quick Links on right side of homepage.
How-to-Video: Searching
How-to-Video: Overview Tutorial (Shows NYT as example)
Washington Post - 2005-present
When you get to the WP site, click on the Washington Post masthead, click on log in, and then click on and sign in with your KS email address. You will be emailed your access. It may take 24 hours to set up your free account.
