These are general Hawaiʻi Pacific resources.
Go to the Hawaiʻi Pacific page on our Midkiff website for access to many more resources.
Ancestry - ProQuest - Tracing your family generations back through primary source documents
AVAKonohiki.org - Kamakakūokalani Center for Hawaiian Studies, UHM - Ancestral lands database; Land documents & maps
Hoʻolaupaʻi, Hawaiian Nūpepa - Ulukau - Collection of historic Hawaiian language newspapers from 1834-1948.
Ka Wai Ola ʻo OHA - Office of Hawaiian Affairs newspaper
Kanaeokana - Moʻolelo that develop and strengthen a Native Hawaiian education system - built on a strong ʻōlelo Hawaiʻi and ʻike Hawaiʻi foundation.
Kipuka Database - OHA - Geographical information system (GIS) that utilizes the latest mapping technologies to provide a window into native Hawaiian land, culture and history. Kipuka links historic data sets to geographic locations reinforcing the concept of information embedded in the ‘aina (land), encoded in the wahi inoa (place name).
Papakilo Database - OHA - Varied collections of data pertaining to the historically and culturally significant places, events, and documents in Hawaiʻi's history.
Ulukau - Hawaiian Electronic Library - Resources for the use, teaching, and revitalization of the Hawaiian language and for a broader and deeper understanding of Hawaiʻi.
ʻAi Kole - Kanaeokana - Getting to know you ma ka ʻōlelo Hawaiʻi
Clinton Kanahele Collection - Joseph F. Smith Library, BYUH - Collection of manaleo interviews on Hawaiian language, history, and culture
He Huewai Ola - Kanaeokana - Health & Wellbeing Webinars for Kāne
Kamakakoʻi - OHA - Aloha ʻĀina awareness short films
Kaniʻāina - Ulukau - Digital resource focusing on native Hawaiian speech to encourage and enhance learning Hawaiian language and culture.
Lei Ānuenue - Kanaeokana - Connecting people through culture webinar series
ʻOhina TV - locally made short films developed through the annual ‘OHINA LABS filmmakers immersive program. "A collection of the best in visual storytelling from Hawai’i’s most gifted writers, directors, and producers."
ʻŌiwi TV - Documentaries, news, and multimedia content from a Hawaiian perspective.
ʻUluʻulu - The Henry Kuʻualoha Giugni Moving Image Archive of Hawaiʻi - UHWO - Film and videotape related to the history and culture of Native Hawaiians and the people of Hawaiʻi
Awaiaulu - Historical resources to bridge Hawaiian knowledge from the past to the present and the future with a focus on Hawaiian nūpepa
Hawaiian Historical Society - Preserving historical materials, presenting public lectures, and publishing scholarly research on the history of Hawai’i.
Hawaiian Mission Houses - Research archives which provides a unique glimpse into 19th-century Hawai`i
Hōkūleʻa - Polynesian Voyaging Society - Perpetuating the art and science of traditional Polynesian voyaging
Huapala - Hula Preservation Society - Hawaiian Lyrics & Hula Archive
Hula Preservation Society - Documenting and sharing the amazing life stories of our eldest living Hula Masters and their efforts to perpetuate hula.
Kaʻiwakīloumoku Hawaiian Cultural Center - Kamehameha Schools - Explores the breadth and depth of the Hawaiian culture and the richness of our Pacific world.
Kumukahi - KS Publishing - Living Hawaiian culture and its connections to a rich ancestral past; explore more than 60 diverse topics explained by cultural practitioners and community experts from across the paeʻāina.
Kamehameha Schools Museum Archive - The mission of the Kamehameha Schools Museum Archive is to collect, preserve, and make accessible the records and materials relating to the history of the Kamehameha Schools.
For inquiries, email: archives@ksbe.edu
Digital Collections - Indexes, Government Records, Private/Manuscript Collections
Digital Archives of Hawaiʻi - Digital holdings of the Hawaiʻi State Archives.
Research Guides (Hawaiʻi, Pacific) - 100 Subjects available with research help
UHM Library Digital Image Collections
eVols - Open access, digital institutional repository for the University of Hawaiʻi community and researchers around the world.
Scholar Space - Open access, digital repository that stores the intellectual works and unique collections of the UH Mānoa academic community.
Punawaiola - William S. Richardson School of Law - Ka Huli Ao Center for Excellence in Native Hawaiian Law - Digitized Hawaiian Kingdom historical and legal materials
Research Guides (Hawaiian Collection, Pacific Anthropology)
HŌKŪ - Hilo Online Knowledge Universe - UH Hilo scholarly or creative content
Research Guides (Aloha ʻĀina, Hawaiʻi & Pacific, Hawaiian Studies)
Center for Labor Education and Research - Hawaiʻi Labor Laws & History
DSpace - Online repository for scholarly, creative, and administrative digital content
ʻULUʻULU - Moving Image Archive
Research Guides (Hawaiian Literature, Medicinal Plants, Studies, Hawaiʻi - Researching Place)
Research Guides (Hawaiʻi, Hawaiian Lang., Hawaiian Stud.)
Research Guides (Hawaiian & Pacific Studies, Hawaiian Language)
