Go to the Midkiff Online Resources link in your Canvas for usernames and passwords to all our online services. --> ʻOhana course - Departments - Midkiff Learning Center
Hawaiian Fiction & Nonfiction
in English & Hawaiian
Go to the Midkiff Online Resources link in your Canvas for usernames and passwords to all our online services. --> ʻOhana course - Departments - Midkiff Learning Center
Encyclopedia Britannica - Start your research here
American History 1493-1945 - Documents American History from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. It is sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection.
J STOR - Digital library of current and archival journals, books, and primary sources
LIFE Magazine Archive - American magazine published from 1936-2000 that featured stories of American life and social commentary.
Go to the Midkiff Online Resources link in your Canvas for usernames and passwords to all our online services. --> ʻOhana course - Departments - Midkiff Learning Center
Historic American Newspapers (Hawaiʻi)
Chronicling America provides “access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).”
New York Times - Current & archived editions of World & U.S. news
To create an account, click on Create Account and then click on 
and sign in with your KS email address. You will be emailed your access. It may take 24 hours to set up your free account.
Newsbank - World, National, and Hawaiʻi Current News as well as America's Historical Newspapers
Hawaiʻi newspapers listed as USA-Hawaii button under Quick Links on right side of homepage.
How-to-Video: Searching
How-to-Video: Overview Tutorial (Shows NYT as example)
Washington Post - 2005-present
When you get to the WP site, click on the Washington Post masthead, click on log in, and then click on and sign in with your KS email address. You will be emailed your access. It may take 24 hours to set up your free account.
AMDOCS - Documents for the Study of American History
American Archive of Public Broadcasting - Archive of public television and radio programs of the past 60 years featuring American political, social, and cultural history and creativity.
American Rhetoric - Online Speech Bank
C-SPAN - Provides access to live U.S. House of Representatives and U.S. Senate proceedings and provides elected and appointed officials and others who would influence public policy access to the public.
Digital Library of America – Primary Source Sets - “…exploring topics in history, literature, and culture through primary sources. Each set includes an overview, ten to fifteen primary sources, links to related resources, and a teaching guide.”
Eyewitness to History - “Your ringside seat to history – from the Ancient World to the present. History through the eyes of those who lived it, presented by Ibis Communications, Inc. a digital publisher of educational programming.”
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Primary Documents in US History
Library of Congress YouTube Channel
LIFE Magazine Photo Archive - Hosted by Google Images. Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today.
National Archives - Nation’s record keeper; Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept at this site forever.
New York Public Library Digital Collections - Materials digitized from the Libraryʻs holdings.
Smithsonian Learning Lab - Explore the Smithsonian's rich resources anytime, anywhere. Over a million resources - artifacts, memorabilia, primary sources.
National Museum of American History
National Museum of African American History and Culture
National Museum of the American Indian
Smithsonian Folkways - Extensive collection of world music and music history.
U.S. Census Bureau - U.S. Census data
World Digital Library - “The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
