LibGuides: Moʻokūʻauhau / Genealogy: Web Resources

Ola Ka Inoa!

Episode #54 Ola Ka Inoa! with Hailama V.K.K. Farden

In this two-part, Ola Ka Inoa presentation, Mr. Farden will share some examples, name giving practices, mores and personal stories of Hawaiian inoa – inoa kūpuna, inoa ho‘omana‘o, inoa kūamuamu, hō‘ailona & ‘ūlāleo. Part 1 Part 2

Genealogy Resources Specific to Hawaiʻi

The Tombstone Transcription Project Hawaii Cemeteries
Hawaiian Genealogy Book Index
Hawaiian Genealogy Indexes
Marriages, Divorces, Citizenship and Death in Hawaiʻi from 1832
Hawaiʻi State Archives
The Hawaiʻi State Archives hold public government records which can be important to
moʻokūʻauhau research.
more...less...
Some of their resources include:
- Vital Records (1832-1929)
- Native Register & Testimony (for
Mähele)
- Probates (1848-1915)
- Wills (1852-1915)
- Divorce Records (1858-1899)
- Census Records (1840-1896)
- Cemetery Records (Indexes to
names)
- Obituary Index (from
Newspapers, 1836-1950)
- Photographs
- Name/Place indexes for
Government Documents
Hawaiʻi State Main Library
This library offers a wide selection of resources for moʻokūʻauhau research.
more...less...
- Published genealogy books
- Birth Indexes (inc. Delayed Births & Territory Births)
- Newspaper indexes
- Census records (computer/microfilm)
- Ancestry.com
- Heritage Quest
- City & Polk Directories
- Who’s Who Biographies
- Men & Women of Hawaiʻi
Hawaiian Historical Society
This library is located on the grounds of the Mission Houses Museum. This library
shares space with the Hawaiian Mission Children’s Society Library.
more...less...
Their moʻokūʻauhau
resources include:
- Manuscripts
- Photographs
- Journals
- Telephone directories
- City directories
- Biographies
- Hawaiian language books
- Hawaiian, English, & Portuguese newspapers
Hawaiʻi State Archives - Principles and Practices of Preservation to their Records
Adam Jensen shares screen recording on using historical and genealogical documents.

Kingdom of Hawaiʻi and Territory of Hawaiʻi Directories

University of Hawaiʻi eVols: Directory Collection
Download or view directories of addresses and professions from the Kingdom and Territory of Hawaiʻi from 1880-1924

Need kōkua? Contact me!

Kumu Kuuleilani Reyes

Hale Hoʻonaʻauao ʻo Midkiff

Email me: kureyes@ksbe.edu

Click on icon above.

Must log in to Google account.

Mo'okū'auhau Workshop Series

Kekuʻiapoiwa Learning Center presents ʻOhana Presence Workshop Series.

In this three-part series, Analū Cruze-Josephides facilitates genealogy research featuring credible databases.

Learn your past and set your kahua for your future! Click on this link.

Web Based Free Search Tools

Hawaii State Public Library - Heritage Quest
For US Census Records:
Go to HeritageQuest Online Database (on the Hawaiʻi State Public Library Site), To log in, use your public library card: Barcode and ID (last 4 digits of your phone #).
ʻUluʻulu: The Henry Kuʻualoha Giugni Moving Image Archive of Hawaiʻi
Aims to perpetuate and share the rich moving image heritage of Hawai‘i through the preservation of film and videotape related to the history and culture of Native Hawaiians and the people of Hawai‘i.
Ancestry Library Edition
Great database to thousands of records, including birth, death, marriage, military, obituary, etc.
Digital Library of America
free and open to all - offers a unique research resource for family historians and genealogists
Ellis Island
51 million passenger records of those entering the US at Ellis Island.
Family Search
Sponsored by the Church of Latter Day Saints, the site requires an account, but the account is free.
Library of Congress: Chroniciling America
America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1924
Midkiff Learning Centerʻs Other Online Resources
Hawaiʻi State Public Library System, UH Research Guides, Hawaiʻi State Archives, Newspapers.com, and other Digital Libraries
National Archives
Online resource tool for genealogists
USGenWeb Project
USGenWeb was established in 1996 by a group of genealogists who shared a desire to create online centers for genealogical research. Each of our literally thousands of web sites have been created and are maintained by volunteers.