Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Midkiff Online Resources: Digital Resources

Midkiff Catalog & Access to Electronic Resources

Research Databases

Go to KS Connect's Library Link for the usernames and passwords for all our digital resources.

  ABC-Clio - Research database for World Issues and American and World History

  How-to-Video:  Overview Tutorial

 

  American History 1493-1945 - Documents American History from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. It is sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection.

How-to-Video:  Getting StartedSearchingBrowsing

 

  AncestryTracing your family generations back through primary source documents - Go to the Library link in KS Connect to access this service.

How-to-Video:  Features & Searching

 

  CQ Researcher - In-depth reports on today's issues

How-to-Video:  Overview Tutorial

 

  EBSCO - Research database containing over 100,000 encyclopedia, journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, primary sources, government documents, photos, etc.

  How-to Video:  Advanced Searching

 

 Encyclopaedia Britannica - Encyclopedia with up-to-date general information on every topic

  How-to-Video:  Overview Tutorial

 

  Issues & Controversies  - Digital reference content of current social issues

  How-to-Video:  Overview Tutorial

 

  JSTOR - Digital library of current and archival journals, books, and primary sources

  How-to-Video:  Searching

 

  LexisNexis - Collection of legal, regulatory and business information and analytics.  Note:  An account with an approved log in is required for this service.  Please see a Librarian to request an account.

  How-to-Video:  Searching

 

  LIFE Magazine Archive (EBSCO) - American magazine published from 1936-2000 that featured stories of American life and social commentary.

Streaming Video

Swank Motion Pictures - Ask your kumu

for access to feature film movies

Khan Academy - Tutorial Videos on

Math, Science, Computer Programming,

History, Art, and more.

TedEd - Lessons Worth Sharing

YouTube Science & Education Channels

 

UniversityVideos.org - University Videos

is a digital library portal

that contains the YouTube Channels

of the world's Top Universities.

   

eBooks

Go to KS Connect's Library Link for the usernames and passwords for all our digital resources.

Mostly Fiction

Video Tutorial

Mostly Fiction

Nonfiction

Nonfiction

Tutorial Video

Academic Nonfiction

Tutorial Video

Nonfiction

Tutorial Video

Nonfiction

Tutorial Video

Classic Works

Hawaiian Fiction & Nonfiction

in English & Hawaiian

Miscellaneous

Newspapers

Go to KS Connect's Library Link for the usernames and passwords for all our digital resources.

   American Memory

                                      Chronicling America

                                      Historic American Newspapers (Hawaiʻi)

 

  New York Times - Current & archived editions of World & U.S. news

  Create an account with your KS email address.  Follow the directions to set up access.

 

  Newsbank - World, National, and Hawaiʻi Current News as well as America's Historical Newspapers

  Hawaiʻi newspapers listed as USA-Hawaii button under Quick Links on right side of homepage.

                                     Science Source Collection

  How-to-Video:  Searching

 

undefined  Newspapers.com - Historical newspapers

  How-to-Video:  Overview Tutorial

 

  The Guardian & The Observer

  The New York Times

                                      San Francisco Chronicle

                                      The Washington Post

  How-to-Video:  Overview Tutorial (Shows NYT as example)

 

  Washington Post - 2005-present

  When you get to the WP site, click on    and sign in with your KS email address.

Flipster Digital Magazine

Need Kōkua? Contact me!

 

Kumu Laʻakea Cumberlander

Hale Hoʻonaʻauao ʻo Midkiff

Email me:  cecumber@ksbe.edu

OR

(Click on icon above.  Must log in to Google account.)